Doing the Best I Can in the Place Where I Am

“Do the best that you can in the place where you are, and be kind.”

–Scott Nearing

img_2371

Whenever I’m browsing around the garden, the daydreams begin…imagining grander scenarios, ones with lots of land far away from cities, growing my own personal paradise from seed and cuttings, keeping hives for honeybees and constructing glorious coops for my colossal flock of chickens, wonderful and absolute solitude…

img_2355

…and then I remind myself that I can create something productive and fulfilling on the suburban plot I live on presently–a steep and somewhat arid quarter of an acre, with a range of really sandy soil to straight up clay. To focus on what I have, and work to bring it to its full potential. Heck, we’ve already transformed one step of our terrace from a swathe of cat litter to a fruitful potager!

img_2367

Going for walks helps me reconcile my dreams with my realities, provides a clarity of mind and allows for acknowledgment and acceptance of what is. And it fortifies me with the enthusiasm I need to implement my vision. We’re really lucky to have a beautiful park just up the road from our house, and Mena and I went there this morning.

img_2366

Isn’t the Callistemon gorgeous? The bees and the hummingbirds love the bottlebrush flowers.

img_2369

I think about Scott Nearing’s advice, and think about all those who have lived and breathed those words, who have brought to pass beautiful and marvelous things, one flight of fancy rooted in the earth at a time.

img_2365

img_2368

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.”

–Jawaharlal Nehru

img_2372

Look at those gorgeous grim pine trees! I see a painting with them in the near future…

“The value of doing something does not lie in the ease or difficulty, the probability or improbability of its achievement, but in the vision, the plan, the determination and the perseverance, the effort and the struggle which go into the project. Life is enriched by aspiration and effort, rather than by acquisition and accumulation.”

–Helen Nearing

Leave a Reply

