Keeping Sane

“To forget how to dig the earth and to tend the soil is to forget ourselves.”
– Mahatma Gandhi

img_2288

My husband Anthony has been away for a week, and the girls and I have been spending the days outside. I am excited for fall and have started sprouting the season’s vegetables: cauliflower, cabbage, pak choi, kale, broccoli raab, lettuce, and onions.

img_2290

Being out in the garden always gives me great drawing/painting ideas. Way too many to keep up with, actually. But a few have stayed in my mind, waiting to be transmuted onto paper…like Grandpa Ott with his morning glories and foxes wearing gloves and other lovely cottage garden scenes.

img_2228

I really hope when my girls are grown that they will garden, too. It is truly an incredible source of happiness. One that also happens to have delicious by-products without all the extra nonsense they usually come with in grocery store form!

Leave a Reply

